Page 1 of 1

DB Reload

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:23 pm
by qong
Hi,

is it possible to reload an XML Database
whilst XLobby is running ?

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:43 pm
by scottw
What about the Refresh command under Category??

Does that work?

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 2:15 pm
by qong
This doesnt exactly do what I want.

It actually does a rescan.

I want a command that simply reloads the xml
without regenerating it.

Reason is I have a program that scans a directory
and generates an XML DB. So I dont need XLobby to rescan
for me.

But, after some tests I discovered.

Xlobby wont rescan if.
1. If the XML file is open by another program.
or
2. The templates element is empty.
or
3. There are no paths to scan.

Luckily in all 3 scenarios, xlobby does not empty
the DB. So I just need to create an XML template with
no templates.

Thanx for the help.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 3:52 pm
by qong
Looks like I was wrong.
XLobby will empty the XML DB if template=movies
and there are no paths.
It seems that the only guaranteed way is to
make Templates empty.

PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 5:41 pm
by ph0n33z
Were you able to figure out a way to do this?

Also, what program are you using that automatically scans your database and outputs an XML file for xlobby to read?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 9:03 am
by qong
Yes, it seems to be working now.

Its a small JAVA program I wrote myself.
It scans the given directory and sub directories
and creates a DB for xlobby.
I wrote this because the Directory categories in
xlobby dont refresh properly.

Re: DB Reload

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 12:24 am
by sssscary
I was also trying to figure out how to reload the database without refreshing, since I have a program that updates some of the info in the movie database, but I still rely on the xlobby refresh to add the movies the first time. I ended up just creating two bat files, one that sets the movie.xml to read-only, one that sets it back. I then created event that runs first one, then does database refresh, then runs second bat file. This cause the database to just reload, it can't refresh cuz its read only. seems to work great