How to use external mediaplayer instead of inbuilt

Help each other out

How to use external mediaplayer instead of inbuilt

Postby bakerpr on Fri Aug 03, 2007 10:18 pm

I am stuck and need an idiots guide to launching theatertek or powerdvd for movies instead of the inbuilt player.
Is it also possible to have different file types opening with a particular program?
I have enabled the programs in the options File Type and given the extensions and browsed to the exe files. What else do I need to do or is there specific command line switches that I need?
bakerpr
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 5:17 pm
Location: UK

Re: How to use external mediaplayer instead of inbuilt

Postby cooldog on Sat Aug 04, 2007 2:23 pm

Baker,

You need to modify the XLobby setup (hit F2 to get there) under "Events".

Expand "Skin", and under that, expand "movies". Expand "play movie" and "play movie new".

You need to delete the two commands under "play movie new" and add the "category/execute" and "xlobby/close overlay" commands in their place. IOW, make "play movie new" look just like "play movie".

Once that's done, the setup screen for "File Types" will determine how different media files are played.

Here's what mine looks like:

zplayer.exe ifo,avi,iso,img,video_ts,vob,ts,mkv,zpl,wmv /F "%parameter%"
ShowTime.exe m2t,m3u "%parameter%"
PowerDVD.exe pls,m2ts,xpl "%parameter%"

I'm still trying to find a way to get PowerDVD to start a Bluray disc image from the command line. The best I've been able to do so far is to make a playlist from the .m2ts stream files. I think I may be able to get Girder to do it, but I haven't spent the time necessary yet.

Paul
cooldog
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 12:48 am
Location: Kenton, Delaware, USA

Re: How to use external mediaplayer instead of inbuilt

Postby bakerpr on Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:06 pm

Thanks Paul,

I'll give it a go and let you know how it goes.

Baker (Paul also)
bakerpr
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 5:17 pm
Location: UK

Re: How to use external mediaplayer instead of inbuilt

Postby cooldog on Mon Aug 06, 2007 3:07 am

Paul,

I had to make a change today, since the previous setup would not play ISO's properly.

modify one line
zplayer.exe ifo,avi,img,video_ts,vob,ts,mkv,zpl,wmv /F "%parameter%"
(note "iso," removed)

add one line
zplayer.exe iso /F /OPENDRIVE:J /DVD
(note J is my "Daemontools" virtual drive)

Regards,
Paul
cooldog
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 12:48 am
Location: Kenton, Delaware, USA

Re: How to use external mediaplayer instead of inbuilt

Postby bakerpr on Mon Aug 06, 2007 7:43 pm

I am getting closer since when I go to open a ts movie file mediaplayer classic opens but doesn't play the file.

What have I missed?
bakerpr
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 5:17 pm
Location: UK

Re: How to use external mediaplayer instead of inbuilt

Postby cooldog on Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:28 am

Is "%parameter%" actually in doublequotes? Filenames with spaces in them will not work without the quotes.

Use the setup screen->Databases->movies->Edit to verify that the Parameter contains the correct pathname for the ts file.

Open a command window and try typing the command that you have setup XLobby to build to play that file ... does it work from the command line?
cooldog
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 12:48 am
Location: Kenton, Delaware, USA

Re: How to use external mediaplayer instead of inbuilt

Postby bakerpr on Sat Aug 11, 2007 11:32 pm

Thanks again,
I have got all my files working now using a mix of nero, mpc and powerdvd.
bakerpr
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 5:17 pm
Location: UK

Re: How to use external mediaplayer instead of inbuilt

Postby thekochs on Tue Nov 06, 2007 9:09 pm

The How-To for TheaterTek.

The 10,000ft. summary is........in File Types have

Program:
C:\Program Files\TheaterTek\TheaterTek DVD 2.0\TheaterTek DVD.exe

Extenstions:
ifo,iso,img,video_ts,tp

Command Line Switches:
/AP 2 /nosplash %playlist%


.......with check box enabled.

Go to Events tab and make sure Play Movie has Execute and Close Overlay in it. Then go to your play
button in whatever screen launches the movie and make sure the event it is tied to Play Movie.
Obviously, use PAUSE/BREAK key to go into Skin Editor, highlight the play button and check event.

http://www.xlobby.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=5686
thekochs
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 6:45 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA.


Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron