Button/Database field sizes changing

Information related to the pre-release commercial version of xlobby

Button/Database field sizes changing

Postby sharp_1 on Fri Nov 02, 2007 2:44 pm

In pre7, I have changed from one of my baddabing skins and now back to the default skin and all the buttons and database areas have changed in size...what happened?
I changed the screen resolution but even if I change it back the buttons stay smaller.
Image Image
sharp_1
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Wisconsin

Re: Button/Database field sizes changing

Postby wesblack on Sat Nov 03, 2007 4:25 am

What resolution are you running xLobby in now. If all else fails re-install the build.

Image




Wes Black \ Calrad
wesblack
 
Posts: 1134
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 5:02 pm
Location: Valencia, Ca

Re: Button/Database field sizes changing

Postby sharp_1 on Sat Nov 03, 2007 1:20 pm

I am running at 1024x768 right now...just wondering if there is something else I can do before a re-install?
sharp_1
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Wisconsin

Re: Button/Database field sizes changing

Postby thekochs on Sat Nov 03, 2007 8:12 pm

Did you happen to change to lower screen rez anytime in the process ? I found that XL FREE auto-adjusted....when I went from a 1440x960 to a 1280x720 inadvertantly because I forgot to change rezs before I launched XL. Once that happened XL FREE did not appear to go back the other way when I set the rez back to 1440x960. It's like it adjusts down but not up.
thekochs
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 6:45 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA.

Re: Button/Database field sizes changing

Postby fsamuelsson on Sat Nov 03, 2007 11:34 pm

I have had that issue aswell. Can xlobby be locked to a specifik resolution ?
fsamuelsson
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 9:24 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Button/Database field sizes changing

Postby cmhardwick on Sun Nov 04, 2007 3:38 am

in the setup screen you have the choice of "auto" which will go to the current windows resolution, or specific ones.
Cicero ... loving xLobby, both versions ... now just to get all the new toys ...
cmhardwick
 
Posts: 522
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 6:07 pm
Location: Tennessee

Re: Button/Database field sizes changing

Postby thekochs on Sun Nov 04, 2007 1:49 pm

Here's the problem.

I have a HTPC that outputs DSub RGB thru a ATI 9600XT card. I use a active RGB splitter (http://www.provantage.com/tripp-lite-b1 ... RPA1C6.htm).......one feed going to a 1440x960 flat panel monitor on top of the HTPC...call it debug monitor. The other feed from the splitter goes into
a RGB to Component transcoder (http://www.digitalconnection.com/produc ... o/9a60.asp). The output of this transcoder feeds in a component 8x4 matrix switch that feeds my Home Theater PJ and the other LCD TVs in the house. Since my ATI 9600XT card and HTPC doesn't have quite enough punch for 1080 (and all my native display rezs are 1368x768) I drive the TV/PJs at 720P...1280x720 60Hz. Now, as I said I use the 1440x960 monitor as kinda a debug/programming monitor. The issue with XL is that it tries to be too smart on the skin layout with the rez. For example, if a skin is developed in some larger rez (eg. 1440x960) and you go into in 1280x720 it tries to move things around/shrink/etc. The problem is this has many unwanted results....nothing seems to line up. So, for my skins (or any that I tweek).....I have to make sure I only every launch XL to config it in the 1280x720 rez....if not items are mucked up with no recourse to fix. For me, it would be much better that XL does not try to auto-correct for rez changes...it should just keep the image static. Thus if you develop in 1280x720 a skin but display at 1440x960 you'll have more call it border space (say underscan effect). If you devloped on 1440x960 and run XL in lower rez like 1280x720 or 1024x768 you get a cropping (say overscan effect). I know the idea is for the user not to have to worry about this but it is much better to see the real effect of the rez on the skin and have to perhaps save to another version of skin and make your edits. In summary, just MHO, I'd rather have the same skin for different rezs saved than one skin where XL tries to auto-adapt.
thekochs
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 6:45 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA.

Re: Button/Database field sizes changing

Postby cmhardwick on Sun Nov 04, 2007 4:03 pm

if you lock the resolution rather than leave it set at auto, it will keep it at the same resolution. I do this on my 19"lcd where I do my skinning and editing. It normally runs at 1280*1024, however my skin normally running on a 1024*768 screen. I went into the F2 settings, SKINS, and on the lower right, set the skin to 1024*768. Now, every time I open up xLobby on this screen, it opens at that resolution, NOT the full screen resolution. The xLobby screen now just takes up a portion of my desktop as well (as I'm running in one monitor here now). It is anchored to the 0x0 position (upper left corner) and only going 1024 pixels across and 768 down.
Cicero ... loving xLobby, both versions ... now just to get all the new toys ...
cmhardwick
 
Posts: 522
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 6:07 pm
Location: Tennessee

Re: Button/Database field sizes changing

Postby thekochs on Sun Nov 04, 2007 6:37 pm

cmhardwick wrote:if you lock the resolution rather than leave it set at auto, it will keep it at the same resolution. I do this on my 19"lcd where I do my skinning and editing. It normally runs at 1280*1024, however my skin normally running on a 1024*768 screen. I went into the F2 settings, SKINS, and on the lower right, set the skin to 1024*768. Now, every time I open up xLobby on this screen, it opens at that resolution, NOT the full screen resolution. The xLobby screen now just takes up a portion of my desktop as well (as I'm running in one monitor here now). It is anchored to the 0x0 position (upper left corner) and only going 1024 pixels across and 768 down.


Cool.......this would work. Will have to try it. Thanks !!!

UPDATE: Wow, this works great. I notice the presets are only the Windows drivers....does not pickup the custom gfx drivers from PowerStrip I have...example 1200x667 60Hz for overscan reduction on the PJ/TVs. It does allow for me to type in hor/ver size (eg. 1200x667). This is great so it won't muck up the skin configured for that rez when monitor is in other rez. My only suggestion to Steven would be able to add the custom (typed) rez into the preset list.
thekochs
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 6:45 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA.

Re: Button/Database field sizes changing

Postby cmhardwick on Sun Nov 04, 2007 10:44 pm

thekochs wrote:My only suggestion to Steven would be able to add the custom (typed) rez into the preset list.

You mean like a "save custom res" button or something? That would be nice, and it would stay in the list after that.
Cicero ... loving xLobby, both versions ... now just to get all the new toys ...
cmhardwick
 
Posts: 522
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 6:07 pm
Location: Tennessee

Re: Button/Database field sizes changing

Postby thekochs on Mon Nov 05, 2007 12:09 pm

cmhardwick wrote:
thekochs wrote:My only suggestion to Steven would be able to add the custom (typed) rez into the preset list.

You mean like a "save custom res" button or something? That would be nice, and it would stay in the list after that.


Yup, exactly. My guess is there is alot of folks (especially installers) out there using something like PowerStrip (http://entechtaiwan.com/util/ps.shtm) or even in their video gfx driver advacned options (eg. NVidia) that are customizing. What I mean by this is like myself folks are using some sort of util to reduce the overscan on a TV or PJ if they are driving component. This will effectively change the rez. Example, my 720P 1280x720 60Hz went to 1200x667 60Hz. Since it doesn't appear XL picks up these custom drivers it would be nice to manually type in the rez you know the driver is set to and be able to add to Preset List.
thekochs
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 6:45 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA.


Return to Pre-Release Area

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests