Does Xlobby actually work?

Speak your mind

Does Xlobby actually work?

Postby robuk on Mon Sep 06, 2004 8:55 am

hi everyone,

Hello, I am a newbie and have been experimenting with Xlobby. I can see the potetial power of the system but I don't know if it is just me - most of it doesn't seem to be actually finished or work! Does anyone actually have a fully working xlobby implementation?

Robin
robuk

Postby ukbubs on Mon Sep 06, 2004 10:47 am

Welcome to xlobby!

There is a learning curve for sure - it doesn't work straight out of the box. The bonus is that you can make it do just about anything you want.

Apart from the lack of a pvr plugin (one is coming), other functions should all work once you've configured them.

A lot of guidance is lurking in threads, so I suggest you trawl around. Plenty of help available in response to specific questions :D
ukbubs

Postby Aaron on Mon Sep 06, 2004 4:49 pm

robuk,

All I can say is DON'T BUY XLOBBY

don't spend a penny of hard earned money on XLobby...

Oh wait... it is free.

Hmm... I changed my mind. It is a TOTAL BARGAIN!

Just kidding...

Flat out, XLobby is great and it is still a baby.
It is definitely not finished that is true.

I've been using several packages/combos and I've decided to move away from my previous favorite, NetRemote/HomeSeer, to XLobby as long as it continure to improve in the way I need it to and incorporate HD PVR functionaity (probably through a plug-in with another app).

The other way I will look at is Meedio. It looks really nice too but it is too early to tell.

For now I'm with XLobby.
Aaron

Postby Tracie on Mon Sep 06, 2004 6:32 pm

Affini,
LOL, that's awesome.

robuk,
You have to remember that not only is this software free, but it's an Alpha, so of course it's not even close to finished. But to anwser your question, yes, there are quite a lot of us that have "a fully working Xlobby implementation" insofar as what we need.