Multi-Level of client(s) / server(s)?

Speak your mind

Multi-Level of client(s) / server(s)?

Postby sdumas on Fri Mar 10, 2006 4:24 pm

This will be a long post...

Summary - Is it possible to have a fat client acting as a server too? and can a client connects to more than one server?

I have 9 PCs that are located in different rooms in my house. I use most of the environment in a two-tier approach; let me explain.

In my Home Theatre I have my Master HTPC which contains all my music, movies, photos, etc with 1 terabytes of disk space. The Master HTPC is also the Xlobby server, has Girder installed on it, has a USBUIRT to control my home theatre equipment, has an X10 device to control my lighting and has a couple of sound cards as well. This PC is located in a closet, just because I don't want to see it and particularly; hear it.

I use a second PC in the home theatre itself as a "remote control" using a touchscreen and a Fat client to control the Master HTPC. This one controls my amplifier, Satellite receiver, lights, etc. This works very well.

I use a third PC to control music and video in another in the basement also with a Fat client and this works fine too. This one control another set of amplifier, TV, using the same USBUIRT from the Master HTPC with IR extenders from Xantech.

So far so good.

Here is the problem: