Newbie help please!

Speak your mind

Newbie help please!

Postby happypyro on Thu Aug 24, 2006 1:55 pm

Hi all. I am pretty new to xlobby although I have been testing it for a bit on my pc.. I wont ask anyone to walk me through building my system but I was hoping I could explain what I want to do and yall could make recommendations for setup and components I might need. I think it is a basic setup, but a good one to start with.

I want my HTPC to act as a media server - mostly for pictures, music and games, but also for hard drive based dvd's. At this time I will not be using it as a TVtuner or PVR. It will physically be a part of my HT rack in the basement but it will be scanned/ RF converted and added as a TV channel throughout my home. (I am less concerned with video quality in the home because the HT will continue to be the main DVD viewing room) I do not have any HDTV's in the system and I do not have digital cable. My HT is set up with all components being switched with the Reciever and I am using a Harmony 880 remote.

My main questions concern using a remote to navigate through the XL screens. what do I need to use the harmony 880 downstairs? Can you reccommend a remote for two rooms upstairs, and also IR extenders? Also, how about wireless game controllers?

I think thats all right now. any info is greatly appreciated and I cant wait to jump into this exciting program!

Thanks!
happypyro

Postby rembetis on Thu Aug 24, 2006 3:28 pm

For line-of-sight control of Xlobby, I don't think the USB-UIRT can be beat. Xlobby has built-in support that allows the use of ANY remote, allowing simple integration of a universal remote that controls the rest of your gear (such as the Harmony). The UIRT also allows easy and dependable IR emitting as well, allowing you to link Xlobby events with external IR events (when you go to your movie screen, Xlobby switches your amp to movie mode and turns on your TV, etc.).