edit mask in video template

V3 help and support questions

edit mask in video template

Postby billberet on Tue Dec 30, 2008 2:38 am

hey

ok i've been trying to adjust the template and i am pulling my hair out.
all i want to do is for the TITLE, i do not want the full directory path, just the title of the avi file. how should my template look
if i have a file /southpark/episode1/testepisode1.avi
and i click import, my name,title,sorttitle all says the same thing
/southpark/episode1/testepisode1
then i have to go into the database and remove (/southpark/episode1/) so i am left with only testepisode1.
needless to say i have hundreds of these files and i have been wasting alot of time converting season after season.
so i figure there is a better way than this.

how can i have it when i import, it only says testepisode1instead of the whole directory path.
i want to remove the full directory path in all the field elements.
can someone explain how the template works, here is the mask section on the video template
Code: Select all
  <mask>\\(?<genre>.*)\\(?<name>.*)\\video_ts\\video_ts\.ifo</mask>
  <mask>\\(?<name>.*)\\video_ts\\video_ts\.ifo</mask>
  <mask>\\(?<name>.*)\\.*\.iso</mask>
  <mask>\\(?<name>.*)\..*?</mask>
  <mask>\\(?<name>.*?)\\.*?</mask>
  <mask>\\(?<name>.*)</mask>
 


or does this issue have to do with the folderitem
<folderitem>ignore</folderitem> <--what does this do?
will this help me remove the folder path on all my database elements.



thanks in advance.
-bb
billberet
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:26 pm
Location: NYC

Re: edit mask in video template

Postby lpg on Sat Jan 03, 2009 5:31 am

In order to get my dvd type field to work I had to check the custom format box. Search the forum on metamask Sharp and others have documented quite a bit in this area. Larry
lpg
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Chicago

Re: edit mask in video template

Postby billberet on Sun Jan 04, 2009 6:35 pm

thanks for the info Larry, it did help clear some things out,
but when i seem to try it, i either get the full directory path, or nothing.

i did take their advice and only use one line at a time to make sure the mask is working.

this is what i currently have
Code: Select all
\\(?<name>.*)\\(?<title>.*)\..*?


it looks good, and expresso has no issues with syntax, but still no go.
my directory structure is simple: \\(tv show) \ (season and episode) \ episode_name.avi
i am using the default video database so i have 3 fields, (NAME, TITLE, SORTTITLE)
so instead of each field getting populated with the correct data, it gets populated with ALL the data
after i hit import, this is what i get

NAME: (tv show) \ (season and episode) \ episode_name
TITLE: (tv show) \ (season and episode) \ episode_name
SORTTITLE: (tv show) \ (season and episode) \ episode_name

this is what i want in the database:
NAME:(tv show)
TITLE:(episode_name)
SORTTITLE: (episode_name)

so i have to go into each field and remove the excess data
i'll be happy just populating one field that don't have a full directory structure in it.
then i can take it from there.

thanks again
billberet
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:26 pm
Location: NYC

Re: edit mask in video template

Postby billberet on Sun Jan 04, 2009 9:33 pm

since the database has 3 fields, where in the templates do you assign the field variables.
so far, the only field that works is <name> and name is not even a field in the database.
if i put any other field, like <title> or <sorttitle> i get a blank in the database.

any ideas?
billberet
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:26 pm
Location: NYC

Re: edit mask in video template

Postby billberet on Sun Jan 04, 2009 11:15 pm

SUCCESS

ok what i had to do was remove the MOVIE selection in the dropdown to custom.
then my fields were created and i was able to import as i wanted.

the only problem now is, how do i add data to the DISPLAY field (under coverart)
right now it is populating with just the top level directory name, so if i have 20 records, they all display the same thing.
so i have to click on each one and view the details, this lets me see what is there.

so i'll have 20 records displaying 'SOUTHPARK' and i'll have to click on each to see which file goes with that record.

how do you populate the DISPLAY field.
billberet
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:26 pm
Location: NYC