New to xLobby

Speak your mind

New to xLobby

Postby rancid on Wed Oct 24, 2007 8:13 pm

Hi guys,

Right well I only came accross this software tonight and after a quick play it seems very interesting. I do have a few quick questions ( which might have been answered elsewhere ).

Firstly though I have been using Meedio for a long time and nothing else has touched it for its flexibility and configuration. About 3-4 weeks ago I started playing around with LinuxMCE. I am not sure if any of you have seen this but go have a look. Amazing bit of software and looks very nice. Nice daily artwork downloaded from net over transparent menu items etc. All looks great...BUT...after 3 weeks I still could not get it working how I wanted lol. Absolut nightmare. I am not a novice to computers either as I have been programming computers for a living for over 20 years. Well I finally decided to give up on the LinuxMCE and start looking out for something new.

I had a look at VistaMCE and well this is nice. Easy to use etc...Even though it does not have all the extras that Meedio has ( menu configuration, plugins etc etc ) I did find I liked it. But like all other software it does not really do the job I want.

I have 1,000's of albums stored as mp3's, 1,000's of dvd's & 1,000's of high def movies all ripped onto my file server ( yes its 8 Tera bytes worth :)

So my objective is to find a piece of software similar to Meedio but uptodate. I want that ease of use, configurable and nice feel to it.

Right...

1. How configurable is xLobby compared to what Meedio was like? Can I for example create layers of menu selections for music. Modify how the items are going to be displayed and what layer is next down the line when I select one of those items.

2. Can I select different players for different types of media? VLC for dvd's stored as an image, Zoom player for high def movie images & Winamp for music files.

3. Does xLooby work on Vista? 32 & 64 bit?