DVB based PVR Idea

Speak your mind

DVB based PVR Idea

Postby Lifter on Wed Mar 31, 2004 9:56 am

Warning, this post will be long. Ok, I'm not a programmer, but I think I have an idea of how to integrate support for DVB cards within Xlobby with what I think would be a minimal amount of work on Steven's part.

My HTPC dream is to have full PVR functionality for my satellite service ala Snapstream/Sage without using nasty analog capture and recompression. In addition to preserving every bit of quality, I could also take advantage of software MPEG decoders and post-processing filters like FDDshow.

DVB cards, in conjunction with programs like MyTheater and ProgDVB allow viewing and recording these transport streams without any recompression. However, the EPG system is supposedly really bad and there are no VCR-like controls. Nobody in the DVB forums has come up with a reasonable solution to this. Some have undertaken writing WDM drivers for particular cards to allow Snapstream/Sage compatibility, but that just sends the decompressed stream to the PVR software (and therefore needs to be recompressed). Some people are literally looping svideo out from the DVB card into a PVR-250. Absolutely terrible. But I think I may have a solution.

Let's say Steven creates a simple EPG that just reads the xmltv data and sends Girder events upon selecting a show. No worries about capture card support or anything like that. It's just a frontend.

With the Girder events in motion from Xlobby, Girder could tune to the appropriate channel in MT/ProgDVB, and immediately tell MT/ProgDVB to start recording the stream to a scratch folder. The A/V rendering will be turned off in MT/ProgDVB, so PC resources are not wasted on that- it just tunes to the channel and starts recording.