Ben's carputer plans

good place to post your setup and get feedback from others.

Ben's carputer plans

Postby bmblank on Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:55 pm

Keep in mind, these are just plans... Its gonna be a little while since I'm fresh out of college and don't really have the money yet and I'm an engineer, so I don't really have the time...
But anyways, what I was planning on doing is getting a cheap laptop (doesn't need a screen), put a decent hard drive in there and a wireless card that allows it to act as an access point. In a perfect world I'd be able to get a car2pc or pc2car or whatever its called, but I can't find one for my truck yet (99 silverado). So anyways, i'd connect this computer (which has xlobby server on it) to my stereo some way and then the computer would stay under my seat or somewhere hidden away. I would have my axim in a mount, not far from my hand wirelessly connected to xlobby and that's how I'd control the music. In addition to that, what I want to do is have my phone connected to the computer with a charge/data cord that I already have. Make a button in xlobby that tells the computer to dialup and bam, I have a mobile hotzone. Using this setup I would think add-ons and upgrades would be fairly easy. I could have the option of putting a monitor connected to the server (so I can watch movies and such) in my truck.
Oh, also there would be an AP in the garage, so I could connect to it from home pc as well to put more music and such on it.

So wouldn't it be cool to be listening to music and when your passenger sitting in the back seat complains about your music choices, you can just toss them your ax and say "here, then you choose."

Or, you're at a public event (say a rally race) and you can advertise on the side of the vehicle "free wireless hot zone." so as people try to get online, they have to pass through your advertisement on your little production company showing cool videos of past races and stuff.