WMP9 and xLobby

Speak your mind

WMP9 and xLobby

Postby GatorMcNeil on Fri Jul 16, 2004 2:45 pm

I know many people, including me have a problem with micros*ck, but I need to limit programs. I need media player for wmvhd, so I might as well use it for music instead of using winamp.
The problem is I can't seem to get it working. Now I am a newbie to xLobby, I previously was using myHTPC, but read that xLobby was better. So I am trying it out. I can't see much on the faqs or forum on WMP so....

Anyway, any help would be appreciated.

Thank.

Scott
GatorMcNeil

Postby jowaldo on Fri Jul 16, 2004 3:13 pm

Couldn't you use winamp to play back the wma's? And use zoomplayer to play back the wmvhd. Zoomplayer is free as long as you are using it for things like that. Both of those programs are easy to set up and fully supported in xlobby
jowaldo

Postby GatorMcNeil on Fri Jul 16, 2004 3:28 pm

Yes I could use winamp & ZP, but I need WMP to sort out the DRM on some WMVHD that use online connections, like T2 & Step into Liquid. I have to change my proxy server to get the license. Funny I am from the US, and buy the disks, but because I'm working in the military overseas, I can't use them.
Anyway.......

Scott
GatorMcNeil

Postby jowaldo on Fri Jul 16, 2004 3:42 pm

I can try to help you set it up, but first i need to know if you have been able to add those movies into a db? I don't have those dvd's so I'm not sure exactly how they are saved on the disc.
jowaldo

Postby GatorMcNeil on Fri Jul 16, 2004 3:57 pm

No you can't save the disks on the HD. Because of the way they are encoded, you have to get a "license" across the internet in order to watch. There is a hack by changing the proxy server in WMP to a US public proxy server in order to get the license. Then you can watch in ZP, but only for 5 days. Welcome to the world of DRM and WMVHD. Luckily, not all the disks are like this. There is DRM on "Disk".