I just can't get it to work, please Help

Speak your mind

I just can't get it to work, please Help

Postby patonzon on Thu Jul 27, 2006 1:46 pm

Hy guys,

yes I'm completely new to xlobby, but I downloaded it, installed it and fell in love. It just seems to be an amazing front end for my HTPC.

I followed the beginners guide but couldn't get it to work. I couldn't import my movies, only 2 of about 20. I managed to import my mp3's but I can't get Xlobby's player nor Zoomplayer to play my movies or music. I don't know what I'm doing wrong.

I just wouldn't like to give up on such wonderful software, but it just seems a bit complicated for me. Is there another guide I can read, for more ignorant users like me?

Thanks
patonzon

Postby Jay on Thu Jul 27, 2006 2:18 pm

Can't help with movies since I don't do that.

I understand that Zoomplayer needs command line switches.

While you're waiting for someone knowledgable in those areas to answer, you can get some instant gratification by installing Winamp and giving the path to XL from the setup screen (F2).
Jay

Postby Marbles_00 on Thu Jul 27, 2006 4:55 pm

Jay's right. Xlobby doesn't have an internal player to play music. It uses either Winamp or Foobar. Make sure you have one of those and that you have set up the proper path to the musicplayer .exe file in Xlobby setup (F2 for setup window then select the 'General' tab).

Usually if files have problems importing, it is a problem with the naming convention or with the tags. Verify that the movie files don't have any strange naming, i.e '*', '&', '$' etc. in the titles. The other thing is to verify that the database (in this case the movie.xml) has been setup to recognize the extension your looking for. This can be found in Setup/databases/Import then look at the General tab within the Import window...there will be an editable window titled Extensions.

Hope this was helpful.

Oh, and welcome to the world of Xlobby. Keep pluging at it, the rewards are worth the effort.