help with radio

Help each other out

help with radio

Postby Dluvr22 on Sat Jul 14, 2007 7:26 pm

I'm new here and really like what I've seen so far. I've done some searching and followed all help I could find but still cannot get my radio page to play my shoutcast pls files I check and they will play in winamp and even zoomplayer wmv pro but for some reason I can't play these files. any suggestion will be appreciated. Oh and right now it replays my last played song when I try to listen to the radio.
Dluvr22
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 4:09 am

Re: help with radio

Postby art on Sat Jul 14, 2007 9:13 pm

Try putting your pls files in the database and assign play album command (or something similar I'm not at my XL pc) to that database. Entry in DB can look somewhat like this:
Code: Select all
     
      <item>
        <parameter>c:\pathtopls\some.pls</parameter>
        <coverart>c:\pathtocoverart\some.gif</coverart>
        <display>somename</display>
        <type>album</type>
        <subitems>
          <item>
            <parameter>c:\pathtopls\some.pls</parameter>
            <type>track</type>
          </item>
        </subitems>
        <information>
          <trackname>somename</trackname>
          <genre>somegenre</genre>
        </information>
      </item>
art
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 8:40 am
Location: Allen, TX

Re: help with radio

Postby Dluvr22 on Sat Jul 14, 2007 9:57 pm

I already have it in a shoutcast database I have set up my skin with the category reflecting that however I just can not get this to work oh and my database is in a similar format. just without the images. will do that after i get this to work - also i have a radio genre database to sort my genre
Dluvr22
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 4:09 am

Re: help with radio

Postby art on Sat Jul 14, 2007 10:06 pm

Can you post your DB and one or two pls files?
art
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 8:40 am
Location: Allen, TX

Re: help with radio

Postby Dluvr22 on Sun Jul 15, 2007 9:36 am

here you go. i did try playing some of the pls files directly thru zoomplayer and they work

Code: Select all
  <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
- <database>
  <sortorder>genre</sortorder>
  <paths />
- <item>
  <parameter>Documents and Settings\Elliott\Shoutcast radio pls\Shoutcast\70s</parameter>
  <display>1 70s Hits Oldies Pop (96)</display>
- <subitems>
- <item>
  <parameter>http://scfire-dll0l-1.stream.aol.com:80/stream/1076</parameter>
  <display>1 70s Hits Oldies Pop (96)</display>
  <type>track</type>
- <information>
  <trackgenre>70s</trackgenre>
  <trackfilename>http://scfire-dll0l-1.stream.aol.com:80/stream/1076</trackfilename>
  <trackbirate>96</trackbirate>
  <trackname>70s Hits Oldies Pop</trackname>
  </information>
  </item>
  </subitems>
- <information>
  <name>70s Hits Oldies Pop</name>
  <genre>70s</genre>
  <birate>96</birate>
  </information>
  </item>
- <item>
  <parameter>Documents and Settings\Elliott\Shoutcast radio pls\Shoutcast\70s</parameter>
  <display>2 60s 70s oldies rock pop (96)</display>
- <subitems>
- <item>
  <parameter>http://91.121.44.100:8008</parameter>
  <display>2 60s 70s oldies rock pop (96)</display>
Dluvr22
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 4:09 am

Re: help with radio

Postby art on Sun Jul 15, 2007 10:14 pm

Well, I had no problems playing your streams. One of the ways of doing it is...
Here is my db

Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<database>
  <sortorder>genre</sortorder>
  <item>
    <parameter>http://scfire-dll0l-1.stream.aol.com:80/stream/1076</parameter>
    <display>1 70s Hits Oldies Pop (96)-album</display>
    <type>album</type>
    <subitems>
      <item>
        <parameter>http://scfire-dll0l-1.stream.aol.com:80/stream/1076</parameter>
        <display>1 70s Hits Oldies Pop (96)-track</display>
        <type>track</type>
      </item>
    </subitems>
    <information>
      <name>70s Hits Oldies Pop</name>
      <birate>96</birate>
      <genre>70s</genre>
    </information>
  </item>
  <item>
    <parameter>http://91.121.44.100:8008</parameter>
    <display>2 60s 70s oldies rock pop (96)-album</display>
    <type>album</type>
    <subitems>
      <item>
        <parameter>http://91.121.44.100:8008</parameter>
        <display>2 60s 70s oldies rock pop (96)-track</display>
        <type>track</type>
      </item>
    </subitems>
    <information>
      <name>70s Hits Oldies Pop</name>
      <birate>96</birate>
      <genre>70s</genre>
    </information>
  </item>
</database>


Since you place each stream as a album>track, I'm going to assume that you want to display your streams on the album level and you don't want to go to track level, also when you click on the album you want to tune in and play it.

DB name radio.xml
Category name: radio
In the setup->Events create new event, lets say "play_radio"; assign to it command "play file", in this command argument should be "%radio>parameter%" (note in my DB parameter on the album level is your stream). Switch to Skin Editor and assign your new event to your radio category.
Since you have track level (with "play file" you don't need this level) in your DB, but you want to stay on the album level in the skin editor in category->general in Info Screen enter some fake screen name like "12345". And that should do it.
Like I said this is just one of the ways, if you want some other layout, you would need to be more specific ....
art
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 8:40 am
Location: Allen, TX

Re: help with radio

Postby Dluvr22 on Wed Jul 18, 2007 5:04 pm

thanks for your help so far art however i still cannot get this to work i even went as far as deleting my database and copying this one from the site over but with no results I get the two channels on my page but when i click on them nothing happens.

I am currently using rika's dragon skin with some modifications. I had set up my radio page using two databases I have a radio genre dadabase to sort by genre and the radio database with my stations. I followed the instructions with setting up the event but nothing happens . You wanted more specifics I assume just let me know what you need to help with this . Thanks for all your help so far
Dluvr22
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 4:09 am

Re: help with radio

Postby art on Wed Jul 18, 2007 6:02 pm

Dluvr22 wrote:I had set up my radio page using two databases I have a radio genre dadabase to sort by genre and the radio database with my stations.


If you want to display your radio stations in two levels genre>station than this is different story. I'll try to post some sample latter on for you to follow...
art
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 8:40 am
Location: Allen, TX

Re: help with radio

Postby Dluvr22 on Wed Jul 18, 2007 8:45 pm

I ave already set up the first level with the genre category. When i select a genre, it then takes me to the overlay with the channels for that genre bbut when i click on the channel nothing happens
Dluvr22
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 4:09 am

Re: help with radio

Postby art on Thu Jul 19, 2007 12:22 am

Well, I created little working sample setup for you, but my server went down, so I have no place to upload my files. If you post your contact info I can e-mail them to you, or you'll have to wait till they'll fix my server.... sorry
art
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 8:40 am
Location: Allen, TX

Re: help with radio

Postby Dluvr22 on Thu Jul 19, 2007 2:02 am

edit
Last edited by Dluvr22 on Fri Jul 27, 2007 11:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Dluvr22
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 4:09 am

Re: help with radio

Postby art on Thu Jul 19, 2007 2:24 am

You've got mail.
art
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 8:40 am
Location: Allen, TX

Re: help with radio

Postby Dluvr22 on Thu Jul 19, 2007 2:49 am

thanks i tried the skin but it did not work which confirmed my suspicions that it was an issue with the player itself.
I do not have any winamp/foobar zones set up I figured probably XL was using my default player in windows. I have zoomplayer set up as default for pls files and so far it plays them I m going to look thru the post to see how to set the zones up and hopefully that should solve my problem. If not I'll come calling again. thanks
Dluvr22
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 4:09 am

Re: help with radio

Postby art on Thu Jul 19, 2007 2:53 am

That should have been my first question :lol: (about zones)
Anyway in XL press F2 to get to the setup - on the right click on "add" and point to winamp.exe; that's should fix your problem hopefully
art
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 8:40 am
Location: Allen, TX

Re: help with radio

Postby Dluvr22 on Thu Jul 19, 2007 3:29 am

thanks adding the zone solved my problem. 8)
Dluvr22
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 4:09 am