Learning how to program xLobby

Speak your mind

Learning how to program xLobby

Postby sharp_1 on Tue Jan 31, 2006 1:14 am

Can anyone help me find where I can learn how to program xlobby? I really want to dig in to this stuff but I have no programming background. Thanks for any help or direction.
sharp_1

Postby rembetis on Tue Jan 31, 2006 1:21 am

Depends what you mean by programming. If you mean edit the core code... you can't. Xlobby is not open source. If you mean coding a plugin, you should start here (though I know nothing about that). But I'm guessing what you really mean is how to edit the skin and/or change the functionality of the skin (or perhaps create your own skin?). If so, check out Colby's Skinning Guide.

For more specifics, do specific searches or ask specific questions ;-)
rembetis

Postby sharp_1 on Tue Jan 31, 2006 1:28 am

Thanks rembetis.

I have a few priority things I would like to get up and running first in my HT room. I have a Yamaha HTR5890 and a DVP-777es mega changer that I would like to control with a server and one client for now. I just need to know how I can get everything talking to eachother??? I downloaded xlobby the other day and was about to get some of my dvd library loaded using dvdprofiler which was pretty easy...but now how do I get things to play off xlobby??? Thanks again for the help.
sharp_1

Postby Colby on Tue Jan 31, 2006 3:12 am

A quick and easy way to get xlobby talking to your ht equipment is to use an USB-UIRT. It can learn remote codes and transmit them. This integrated with xlobby can easy make xlobby act as the remote.
Colby

Postby rembetis on Tue Jan 31, 2006 3:24 pm

sharp_1 wrote:I have a few priority things I would like to get up and running first in my HT room. I have a Yamaha HTR5890 and a DVP-777es mega changer that I would like to control with a server and one client for now.

Check out this thread and maybe PM galileo for tips. Sounds like you two have the same DVD changer.
rembetis