Controlling AV Switch using XL2 & MCE IR BLASTER

Help each other out

Controlling AV Switch using XL2 & MCE IR BLASTER

Postby Rab1967 on Tue Feb 17, 2009 8:24 pm

Hi,

I am still very new to this Xlobby software and still feeling my way around, so some help on IR control would be appreciated. I'll explain what I am trying to achieve first.
I want XL2 mostly just for Music Jukebox, but I also would like to be able to have buttons on Xlobby screens to control my Speakercraft MZC multiroom AV switch and a Yamaha RXV1600 AV Receiver. That way I can determine which zones in my home are able to here music as it plays through the XL2 PC.

At the moment I have basic windows XP desktop running XL2 with MediaX2 SKIN also being controlled with the standard MCE IR Remote that came with MCE 2005 OS that I bought and a 17" ELO Touch Screen.

I'm using standard MCE IR drivers and navigating is fine throughout XL (except for controlling Zoomplayer, but don't need movies for the moment)
However, I want to be able to use the IR Blasters of the MCE IR Receiver unit to send out the Ir signals to the MZC controllers IR input (also passed thru to Yamaha amp).

I've read quite a few posts already on changing drivers to get the MCE IR Rec/Blaster working and using it with Girder 3.2, but to be honest I just got lost and found that when I had the changed drivers loaded, the navigation had gone in XL2, which I felt was important to have, without too much hassle.

So what I need is some advice on how to configure any plugins and the hardware drivers in order to get the IR output working and still retain the navigational control using the standard MCE remote.

I know some are going to tell me to buy the USB/UIRT which is built into XL, but I'm trying to utilise what I have already, although if need be, I will reluctantly head towards some US site to make an international purchase, if it is the only way I can achieve the desired result.

.Rab fae Scotland
Rab1967