newbie here with a simple question- How to play a DVD

Speak your mind

newbie here with a simple question- How to play a DVD

Postby Jay M on Wed Dec 14, 2005 7:41 am

ok, I'm sure it's right under my nose, but I can't figure out how.

I am able to have it scan my ripped DVD ISOs and I can successfully click on them and they lauch and play in PowerDVD. Music works great, and I see all my pictures.

But how do I play a DVD that I have just put in the drive?

thanks,
~Jay

BTW- thanks for such an awesome program!! I can't wiat to get it all working the way I want. :)
Jay M

Postby lar282 on Wed Dec 14, 2005 7:21 pm

Just add a button and assign it to a event that runs your movie player with the correct parameters. Or use the autoplay feature that runs the same event u created

//Lasse
lar282

Postby Jay M on Wed Dec 14, 2005 8:56 pm

Thanks, I'll see if I can figure that out.

I found a link to the beginners guide. That is how I got ISOs, music, and pictures to work. But there was nothing about DVDs on that page. Is there a newbie guide to watching DVDs that I am overlooking?

thanks,
~Jay
Jay M

Re: newbie here with a simple question- How to play a DVD

Postby rembetis on Thu Dec 15, 2005 4:18 pm

Jay M wrote:But how do I play a DVD that I have just put in the drive?

Well, you have at least 2 options. You can either rely on PowerDVD's and/or Window's autoplay feature and the movie will play when you insert a disc (you'll have to search for that configuration -- I hate autoplay with a passion) or you'll need to figure out the command line parameter for starting PowerDVD and playing the disc in drive "X".

Once you have that parameter, you will need to create a button to execute that command. This involves both opening the setup page (F2) and creating a new event and then opening the skin editor (hitting Pause/Break) and assigning that event to a new button. Before you do this, though, make sure you make a backup of your skin in case anything goes awry.