Please help out a noob!

This is the place to post your skins, and discuss skinning

Please help out a noob!

Postby Rez4Life on Tue Mar 10, 2009 9:44 am

Hi all,

I’m really new to XLobby but I love what I have seen so far! This programme is excellent!

I have just installed the ColbySkin2, and it looks amazing! However the “news” button within the “internet” section does not work. I understand that Colby hadn’t finished this section, but it was intended to be used with rss news feeds.

Could someone please give me a simple guide on how to complete this news section?

Or I would equally be happy, if someone could let me know how to set it up, so when I click the news button, BBC News front page will open.

Thanks for any advice you could give
Rez4Life

Re: Please help out a noob!

Postby Marbles_00 on Tue Mar 10, 2009 1:51 pm

I will try and explain this in sections.

First Section is to create a rss database. For this I will use CNN.

1) Open Setup (F2)
2) Goto "Databases"
3) Next to "DB Name:", add the name of the RSS database you want to create. For this, I will just use CNN top stories, and I will call it cnntopstories.
4) Under that add the RSS website to "URL(RSS feeds):" for example sake I've already been to CNN.com com and their top stories RSS feed is http://rss.cnn.com/rss/cnn_topstories.rss
5) Click on the "Create RSS DB" button. Down at the bottom should then say "RSS database created".
6) If you scroll through the list of databases in the "Database" window, you should now see the CNN database. Highlight it.
7) Click on the "Edit" button, this should open up the Database editor.
8 ) Select one of the entries under the "Items" window, and make sure is says "description" under the "Remove Field" button. Remember that as we will have to use the word "description" later.
9) Close the DB editor
10) Close Setup

Now the next Section will be to display the RSS database on the screen.
1) Open the skin editor (Pause/Break)
2) Click on the "Screen" tab